Baking, Food, Savoury

Salted Pretzels

(Originally posted on 27/03/2015)

Last September I was in San Fransisco (check me out!) and whilst queuing to get on a boat with my new friend Anneli, I got to try my first pretzel. I loved it! All salty and sweet and doughy. I had to at least have a go at making them!
I have since been told that you can actually buy pretzels in England, but it’s just not the same.
Right, here we go…
dsc02475
(Makes 12)

 Ingredients

4 tsp easy action yeast, 600g self raising flour,50g and 1 tsp sugar, 360ml warm water, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp oil, rock salt, butter

 Method

-Preheat oven to 200°c.
-Put yeast, 1tsp sugar and warm water in a bowl and leave to froth.
-In a large bowl mix flour, 50g sugar, salt and oil.
-Add yeast and form dough. If needed, add 1-2tsp water.
-Oil, cover and leave to double in size in a warm place. (Approx 30 mins)
-Roll into a log and divide by 12.
-Roll and shape.
-Dip shaped pretzels individually in hot water bath and lay on tray.
-Sprinkle with rock salt (or whatever you fancy!) and bake for 10-12 minutes.
-Brush with butter and leave to cool.
-Eat!
And here’s the pretzel that inspired me 🙂
(Yes, it looks a lot bigger and more impressive than mine!)

 

dsc00938

Leave a Reply

