Baking, Breakfast, Food, sweet

Hot Cross Buns

(Originally posted on 01/04/2015)

This morning I went downstairs, put the kettle on for a cup of tea (obviously) and looked in the bread bin for something to eat. I found some hot cross buns that looked a little uninspiring. Flat, no spice, minimum raisins. This was not good. SOOoooo, since I seem to be little miss baker at the moment, I thought why not try making some hot cross buns? So, tea made, radio on, I set to work.
Recipe adapted from this one here

Ingredients

Bun
60g sugar, 4 tsp quick action yeast, 310ml warm milk (I used semi skimmed), 300g SR flour, 400g (approx) Pl flour, 1 tsp salt, 1.5tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp mixed spice, 1.5 tsp nutmeg, 60g butter, a lot of raisins/sultanas (I didn’t measure…sorry), 2 eggs, zest of 1 orange.
Cross
flour, water
Glaze
marmalade

Method

-Preheat oven to 200°c
-Put sugar, yeast and milk in jug and leave to froth.
-Mix flours, spices, salt, zest and raisins in a LARGE bowl. (I got flour everywhere!)
-Rub butter in dry mix.
-Add eggs and yeast to dry mix and form dough.
-Leave to double in size (45mins +)
-Knead and seperate into balls. The recipe I used said 12 but I like my buns big so I went for 9.
-Lay on baking tray, spaced out and leave to prove for another 15 mins.
-Make a paste with flour and water and pipe onto buns, (I chose to use a cocktail stick instead…)
-Bake for 20-25 mins.
-Let cool slightly and heat marmalade.
-Brush buns with marmalade
-EAT!

dsc03356

Leave a Reply

